
To determine if USCB has access to a certain full text journal search TDNet.
A | B |
C | D
| E | F |
G | H
| I | J |
K | L |
M | N |
O | P-Q |
R | S |
T | U-V
| W-X-Y-Z
Title:ABI/Inform
Complete![]()
Via: ProQuest
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1923-present
Full-Text: Most
Description: Featuring over 4,050 journals, ABI/INFORM Complete™ is the
most comprehensive business database on the market today. The combination of
products forms a business database package that offers more than 2,960
full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate
strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product
information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture
of companies and business trends around the world.
Title:
Academic ASAP, Expanded ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Database for research in all academic disciplines and professional fields.
Title:
Academic OneFile ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies by publication
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Premiere source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the
world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of
the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts,
theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York
Times back to 1995.
Title:
Academic Search Premier ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Designed specifically for academic institutions, it is the world's largest
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly
4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In
addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all
8,172 journals in the collection.
Title:
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Via: American Council of Learned Societies
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Formerly History E-Books; now expanded to include most humanities disciplines and
area studies. Contains over 1500 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities fields,
selected by historians and others academics for their continuing importance to students and scholars.
Title:
AccessScience 2.0
Via: McGraw-Hill
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description:
McGraw-Hill's AccessScience 2.0: Premiere
online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from
McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition; providing
access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and
technology.
Title: African American Biographical Database
Via: Web
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid
USCB Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1790-1950
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Includes
profiles and full-text sketches; provides biographical detail
and narratives on the lives of Black Americans.
Title: Agricola
Via: Community of Science
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1979 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Offers over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal
articles, theses, patents, software, and technical reports related to
agriculture.
Title: America:
History & Life
Via: EBSCO
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Prehistoric period - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Historical coverage of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory
to the present. Links to full-text articles in JSTOR.
Title: American Chemical Society
Publications (ACSP)
Via: ACS Publications
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1996 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text access to web editions of dozens of
American Chemical Society journals. Also supports table of contents browsing
by journal and an e-mail ASAP Alert service announcing newly available
articles from each of the web editions.
Title:
The
American Civil War Database
Via: Alexander Street Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Civil War era
Full-Text: Yes
Description: The American Civil War Research Database is the
definitive online resource for researching the soldiers, regiments, and
battles of the American Civil War. Originally created by Historical Data
Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information on
over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000
photographs.
The American
Civil War Research Database
includes a record for virtually every soldier who served in the war. There
are descriptions of thousands of battles, with detailed multi-page battle
orders and reports for significant battles such as Shiloh, Antietam, and
Gettysburg.
Title: American Community
Survey
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Current statistical information on American communities
gathered by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title: American
Fact Finder
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1990 - present
Description: Searchable database of information on population, housing,
economic and geographic data; compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title: Anthropological
Index Online
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1957 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library
at the The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in
all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around
the world.
Title:
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1987 - present
Full-Text: No
Description:
an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services,
psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and
education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of
social science and health information for the practical and academic
professional.
Title: Applied
Science & Technology Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in atmospheric sciences, chemistry,
information technology, engineering, energy resources, food & food
industry, marine technology, oceanography, physics, waste management, and
more.
Title: Art
Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in advertising art, architecture
& architectural history, art history, folk art, graphic art, non-western
art, painting, photography, sculpture, and more.
Title: Article
First
Via: OCLC FirstSearch
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies Full-Text: No
Description: Index of articles from journal tables of contents.
Title: ARTstor
Via: ARTstor
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: A rich digital library that offers coherent collections of
art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to
enable active use of the collections.
Title: ASFA:
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: ASFA 3 is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively
to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers,
and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to
specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine
pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists,
environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers,
corporate regulatory affairs managers, and government officials.
Title: Bartleby.com: Great Books
Online
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A comprehensive public reference library containing a
searchable full-text database of reference, verse, and classic literature. The
site is divided into four sections: Reference, Verse, Fiction and Nonfiction.
Recently added were the 1914 Oxford Edition of the Complete Works of William
Shakespeare and the Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th edition.
Title: Biography
Resource Center ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A comprehensive database of biographical information on
more than 220,000 people from all time periods, geographical locations, and
fields of endeavor. The index combines approximately 300,000 biographies from
Gale Group sources with nearly one million biographies from The Complete
Marquis Who's Who. It also includes full-text articles from nearly 250
periodicals. Searches for people based on one or more personal facts such as
birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or
gender, or combines criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Title: Biological
& Agricultural Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in agriculture, biochemistry,
biology, botany, ecology, environmental sciences, fishery sciences, food
science, forestry, genetics, immunology, limnology, microbiology, zoology, and
more.
Title:
Biological Sciences Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and
citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides
access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference
proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Title:
BioOne
Via: Amigos Library Services
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains full-texts of high-impact bioscience research
journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Provides
access to journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental
sciences.
Title: Black
History Month
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Some
Description: Free web resource from the Gale Group.
Title: Black
Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Via: Alexander Street Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains 912 sources with 741 authors, including non-fiction published works of leading African
Americans.
Title: BookSense Best Sellers
Via: American Booksellers Association
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1999 to present
Full-Text: No
Description: Lists of current bestsellers in trade hardcover and paperback, fiction, non-fiction,
mass-market, children's
interest, children's illustrated, and children's fiction series.
Title: Bureau of Labor
Statistics
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Description: Provides statistical information on employment &
unemployment; wages, earnings & benefits; inflation & consumer
spending; occupations; demographics; productivity; business costs; safety
& health; publications; and more.
Title: Business
& Company Resource Center ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Comprehensive periodical and reference resource for business,
management and investment topics. Includes 4000+ indexed titles of which 2,900+ are
full-text. Additional content from reference sources covering industries,
company histories, associations, brands, market share, and more.
Title: Business
File ASAP, General ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Business and management topics including information on
finance, trade, new technologies and trends. Also includes a directory for
over 150,000 companies.
Title: Business
Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in accounting, advertising, banking,
communications, economics, finance, hospitality & tourism, human
resources, industrial relations, international business, management,
marketing, occupational health & safety, public utilities, retail trade,
small business, technology, transportation, and more.
Title:
Business Source Premier ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides full text for
nearly 7,600 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text
for more than 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications.
Title: CDC Morbidity and
Mortality Weekly Report
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Description: A compilation of current morbidity and mortality
statistics, updated weekly.
Title: Celebrating
Hispanic Heritage
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Some
Description: Free web resource from the Gale Group.
Title: Child Welfare Information Gateway
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Some
Description: Contains over 32,000 citations and abstracts on child
abuse and neglect and child welfare issues; from the U.S. Dept.
of Health
& Human Services.
Title:
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Via: CLCD
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1993 to present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: An acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than
280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
Title:
Chronicle of Higher Education
Via: Chronicle
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Articles of interest to the faculty and administrative staff of academic
institutions.
Title:
ClasePeriodica
Via: OCLC First Search
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1975 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Clase indexes documents published in
Latin Ameerican journals specializing the the social sciences and humanities;
Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Both contain
references to journals in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages.
Title:
CINAHL, with Full Text ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database, with full-text added)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides indexing for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and
other publications and includes full text material from 60 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations,
critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials.
Title:
Clinical Pharmacology ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Some
Description: Contains current, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S.
prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements,
over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Drugs may be
searched by their generic or brand names.
Title:
College Source Catalogs
Via: Career Guidance Foundation
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Virtual library of over 31,000 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover original page format
covering 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional, and international schools.
Title:
Collegiate DISCUS Databases ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Databases for research in many academic disciplines.
Title:
Communication Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1977 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Comprehensive source of information about
communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Covers
communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of
publishers, research institutions, and information sources, including not only
communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is
relevant to communication researchers, such as film studies, the role of
technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication
and public opinions.
Title:
Computer Source ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1985 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high
technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications,
covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence,
cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Title: Country
Studies
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Describes and analyzes historical settings and social,
economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of
countries throughout the world; from the Library of Congress.
Title: CQ Press in Context
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Features selections from the award-winning CQ Press Electronic Library
providing in-depth analysis of today’s hottest political and government issues.
Targets new topics as they emerge as major issues. Updated frequently.
Title:
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:1968 - present
Full-Text: No
Description:
Covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice,
police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and
summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and
non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. Major areas of coverage include:
Behavioral Science, Economic & Political Sciences, Education, Law, Psychology, Social
Work, and
Substance Abuse. Over 80,000+ records, updated quarterly.
Title: Current Research
@ the University of South Carolina (see also Proquest Dissertations and Theses)
Via: ProQuest/UMI
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes, for USC dissertations
Description: Contains over 2 million entries of doctoral dissertations published from 1980, masters theses published
from 1988, and University of South Carolina dissertations from 1996 to present.
More than 600,000 documents are available in PDF format for immediate free download.
Title: Custom
Newspapers ![]()
Via Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Full-text articles from over 100 U.S. and international
newspapers New York Times (January 2000+); Christian Science Monitor; Post
& Courier (Charleston, SC), Atlanta Journal-Constitution and 40+ other
domestic papers Times (London) and 60+ other international papers. Updated 1-3
days after publication of the print newspapers. A complete list of newspaper
titles with beginning date of coverage is available on the Gale Web site.
Title:
Discus
Databases
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Statewide DISCUS database listing with PowerSearch options (i.e., database descriptions, coverage dates
for each
database by year, & itimized
journal title lists). Includes Academic ASAP,
General Business File ASAP, Health Reference Center
Academic, LegalTrac, Custom Newspapers, General Reference
Center, InfoTrac OneFile, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual
Reference Center,
and others.
Title:
EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals.
Title: ECO
- Electronic Collections Online
Via: OCLC FirstSearch
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1995 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Full-text of scholarly journals which can be ordered for a
fee. Delivery by fax, email or mail.
Title: Economic
Census Data Profile
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 2002 - present
Description: Provides economic census data gathered from business
interests around the country; from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title:
Education
Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in competency-based education,
computers in education, continuing education, elementary education, higher
education, language arts, library science, literacy standards,
multicultural/ethnic education, preschool education, special education,
teacher education, parent-teacher relations, and more.
Title:
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1967 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and
comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations
are drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference
proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Title:
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Online
Via: Encyclopaedia Britannica
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Title: Encyclopedia
Americana ![]()
Via: Grolier (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Site consists of three encyclopedias: New Book of
Knowledge Online (for children), Encyclopedia Americana Online (for in-depth
research) and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia Online (for quick reference)
Title: Energy
Citations Database
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1948 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Developed by the Office of Scientific and Technical
Information, U.S. Dept. of Energy. Contains bibliographic records for energy
and energy-related scientific and technical information. Provides access to
DOE publicly available citations.
Title:
Engineering Village 2 / Compendex
Via: Compendex
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1969 - present; 1884-1968 backfiles
Description: Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with
almost seven million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and
conference materials; updated weekly.
Title:
Environmental
Sciences and Pollution Management Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1967 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and
comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations
are drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference
proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Title:
ERIC ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of
Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Includes
full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional
information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and
education-related journals.
Title: ERIC
Via: OCLC First Search
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and
journal articles on educational research and practice.
Title: ERIC.gov
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Centralized ERIC Web site for searching ERIC bibliographic database
of more
than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, 2004, more than
107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004)are available for free.
Title:
FedBusOpps / Commerce Business Daily
Via: Community of Science
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: June 1995 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Lists notices of proposed government procurement actions,
contract awards, sales of government property, and other government
procurement information over $25,000 - all updated daily; issued by the GPO.
Title: Federal Register
Via: Community of Science
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Lists U.S. federal agency announcements and information,
such as presidential documents, agency meetings, grant opportunities, and
proposed federal regulations; updated daily.
Title: FedStats
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Tracks economic and population trends, education, health
care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and
more. Provides access to official statistics collected and published by more
than 100 Federal agencies without the searcher having to know in advance which
agency produces them.
Title: FedStats:
International, State & County, & Local Area Statistics
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides international, state, county and local area
statistics on agriculture, crime, demographics and economics, education,
energy, environment, health, labor, and international and national accounts.
Title: FedWorld
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Established in 1992 to serve as the online locator service
for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal
Government.
Title:
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Title:
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Selected full-text reference works in the following fields: Arts, Biography, Business,
Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Science, and Social Science.
Title:
General
Reference Center ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences,
sports, etc. Publications: Magazines, reference books, and newspapers.
Title:
General
Science Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in astronomy, biology, botany,
chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food, genetics, health,
mathematics, medicine, microbiology, nutrition, oceanography, physics,
physiology, zoology, and more.
Title: GeoRef
Via: Community of Science
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1933 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Access to over 2.3 million references to articles, books,
maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering geology and the
geosciences. Covers the geology of North American from 1785 to the present.
Title:
GPO
- Government Printing Office
Via: OCLC First Search
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1976 - present
Full-Text: Some
Description: U.S. government publications; updated monthly.
Title:
Greenville News ![]()
Via: Gale Group/Newsbank (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1987 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description Archive of full-text articles from the Greenville News newspaper.
Locally written articles - news, editorials, sports, business,
arts, features Letters to the editor and major newswire articles. Special Reports from
NewsBank - topics in the news with reprints of stories from a variety of
sources with related photographs and maps Note: Updated 1-2 days after
publication of the print newspaper.
Title: Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia ![]()
Via: Grolier (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Site consists of three encyclopedias: New Book of
Knowledge Online (for children), Encyclopedia Americana Online (for in-depth
research) and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia Online (for quick reference)
Title: Handbook of Latin
American Studies
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1936 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected
and annotated by scholars; edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of
Congress.
Title:
HarpWeek: The Civil War
Era & Reconstruction
Via: Harper's Weekly
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1857 - 1912
Full-Text: Yes
Description: An internet resource providing access to Harper's Weekly,
a 19th and early 20th century American news magazine. Coverage includes:
1857-1865, the Civil War Era; 1866-1877, Reconstruction; and 1878-1912, the Gilded Age.
Title:
Health
& Wellness Resource Center ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access
to medical, health, and wellness, herbal remedies, alternative or
complementary treatments, and information on occupational health and safety.
Title:
Health
Reference Center - Academic ![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access
to medical, nursing, nutrition, fitness, diseases, drug abuse, and public
health and safety information.
Title:
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1975 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450
peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are
abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.
Title: Highwire
Press
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Mostly back issues
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Archive of free, full-text journal articles in the
sciences, technology, and medicine; from Stanford University.
Title: Historical
Abstracts
Via: EBSCO
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1450 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present
(excluding the U.S. and Canada). Links to full-text articles in Project MUSE and JSTOR.
Title: Historical
Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1929)
Via: ProQuest
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Historical full-text content of four major U.S. newspapers: New York Times 1851-2003;
Washington Post 1877-1990; Chicago Tribune 1849-1985; and Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929.
Title: Historical
Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1985)
Via: ProQuest
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Historical full-text content of four major U.S. newspapers: New York Times 1851-2003;
Washington Post 1877-1990; Chicago Tribune 1849-1985; and Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929.
Title: Historical
Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2003)
Via: ProQuest
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Historical full-text content of four major U.S. newspapers: New York Times 1851-2003;
Washington Post 1877-1990; Chicago Tribune 1849-1985; and Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929.
Title: Historical
Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-1990)
Via: ProQuest
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Historical full-text content of four major U.S. newspapers: New York Times 1851-2003;
Washington Post 1877-1990; Chicago Tribune 1849-1985; and Atlanta Constitution 1868-1929.
Title: Historical
Statistics of the U.S.
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1790 - 1960
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Presents data describing the people and the economy of the
U.S. for each state and county from 1790-1960; from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title:
History Resource Center: U.S.![]()
Via: Thomson Gale
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides integrated access to over 4,000
historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference
titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events,
individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the
present. Also includes citations from over 180 additional
history journals.
Title:
Humanities
Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in archaeology, art, classical
studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history,
journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, literature, music,
performing arts, religion & theology, philosophy, and more.
Title: In the First Person
Via: Alexander Street Press/Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Index of more than 2,500 collections of oral history from around the world.
Indexes letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives.
Title: Information Bridge
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1995 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Consists of full-text literature, conference papers and
journal articles produced and made available by the Department of Energy
National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward. Also links to Energy
Citations Database which includes bibliographic records of literature
chemistry, physics and engineering.
Title:
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Via: Knovel/Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 2003
Full-Text: Yes
Description: This classic
and well-known reference was originally published for the National Research
Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on
inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page
index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
Title:
International Data Base
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 1950 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Database containing statistical tables of demographic, and
socio-economic data for over 200 countries and areas of the world, compiled
and maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title: Internet
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Online encyclopedia devoted to famous philosophers
worldwide, philosophical issues, and the history of philosophy.
Title: IRS
TaxStats
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Description: Provides tax information from the
U.S. Treasurer's Office for individuals, businesses, charities &
non-profits, government entities, tax professionals, and retirement plans.
Title: JSTOR
Via: JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, Arts & Sciences Complement, Biological Sciences and General Science Collections
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies with publication
Full-Text: Yes
Description: An archive for full-text journal backfiles in the following fields: African American, African, and American Indian Studies,
Anthropology, Art, Business, Classical Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Film Studies, Folklore, Geography, History,
Language & Literature,
Latin American Studies, Law, Middle East Studies, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Political Science,
Population Studies, Psychology,
Religion, Sociology, and Statistics, and more ...
Title:
Junior
Edition
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1996 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Designed for junior high school students wanting to search
magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information
on current events,
the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc.
Title:
Kid's
InfoBits
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1995 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Designed for students in grades K-6 wanting to search
magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on
current events,
the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc.
Title:
Knovel Critical Tables
Via: Knovel/Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 2003
Full-Text: Yes
Description: This important,
interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and
thermodynamic properties.
The physical property tables alone include over 21,000
inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property
tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables
have data for over 15,000 compounds.
Additionally, several tables make use of
the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function
of temperature.
Title: Law Library
Microform Consortium (LLMC)
Via: University of Michigan
Access: Restricted to North/South campuses
Coverage: 1976 - present
Full-Text: Yes, with accompanying charges
Description: A non-profit library cooperative providing online
microform access to law, legal literature, government documents, and
law-related literature. Of interest to lawyers, historians, and others.
Title: Legal
Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in administrative law, antitrust
legislation, constitutional law, domestic relations, environmental protection,
international law, minorities, occupational health & safety, public law,
real property, tax law, trade regulations, and more.
Title:
LegalTrac
![]()
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides indexing for all major law reviews, legal
newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands
of law-related articles from general interest publications. Also includes
selective full text articles.
Title: Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe![]()
Via: Reed Elsevier Inc. (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB Library ID ard may
access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text documents from 6,000 news, business, legal, medical,
and general reference publications. Included in the
service are several national newspapers including the New York Times
(1977 - present) and Washington Post (1977 - present) and the Chronicle
of Higher Education (1997 - present, with no embargo on current issues).
Title:
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1969 - present
Full-Text: No
Description:A UK-based database containing abstracts on artificial intelligence, book reviews, CD-ROMs, the Internet,
computer science applications, information science, librarianship and library management, and online information retrieval.
Title:
Library
& Information Science Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in automation, cataloging,
censorship, children's literature, circulation, classification, copyright
legislation, internet software, library equipment & supplies, preservation
of materials, publishing, web sites, and more.
Title:
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Via: EBSCO
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:
Full-Text: No
Description:A US-based database containing abstracts on librarianship, classification, cataloging,
bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
Title:
Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1973 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: The database covers all aspects of the study of language
including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete
coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive,
historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Title:
Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals
Via: Wolters Kluwer Health
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: The database represents the most up-to-date, respected
nursing journals.
Title:
Literary
Index, from Gale
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Searches all the Gale Literature Series publications for
authors and titles. Lists results.
Title:
Literature
Resource Center
Via: Gale Group
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Includes the current contents of Contemporary Authors; Contemporary Authors, New Revised Series;
Contemporary Literary Criticism; Dictionary of Literary Biography; Twayne's Author Series, and Scribners' Writers.
Provides full-text access to "biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary
discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists,
and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied
authors.
Title:
Mary Ann Liebert Publishers: Full-Text Journals
Via: Mary Ann Liebert Publishers
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Founded in 1980, Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is universally acknowledged for establishing
authoritative peer-reviewed journals in the most promising areas of biotechnolgoy,
biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law. Contains the full-texts of
59 refereed journals.
Title:
MAS Ultra - School Edition ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1985 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full text from nearly 600 popular general interest and current events
publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In
addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more
than 650 titles.
Title:
MathScience Net -- Mathematical Reviews on the Web
Via: American Mathematical Society
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid
USCB Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Abstracts of articles appearing in American Mathematical Society journals.
Title:
MEDLINE
Via: OCLC First Search
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Provides citation access to thousands of records, with
substantial abstracts, in all areas of medicine. These include clinical
medicine, education, experimental medicine, nutrition, pathology, psychiatry,
toxicology, dentistry and nursing.
Title:
MEDLINE, with Full Text ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database, with full-text component added)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry,
veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Searches abstracts from
over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Title:
MedlinePlus
Via: National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Has extensive information from the National Institutes of
Health and other trusted sources on over 700 diseases and conditions. Also includes
lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical
encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish,
extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health
information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
MedlinePlus is updated daily.
Title: Merck Index
Via: Merck
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains 10,955 monographs describing significant chemicals,
drugs, and biological substances, 446 named reactions with an index, and a supplementary
compilation of over 60 pages of tables including a glossary.
Title:
Military & Government Collection ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Provides
cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400
journals and periodicals. Also includes full text for 245 pamphlets
and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Title:
MLA Directory of Periodicals ![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: No
Description: Contains all information available on the journals and series on the
bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Includes over 7,100 titles, of which more than
4,400 are currently indexed.
Title:
MLA International Bibliography![]()
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage:1963 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains over 1.6 million citations
from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers pertaining to literature,
language, linguistics, and folklore.
Title: National
Center for Biotechnology Information
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: NCBI is a national resource for molecular biology
information.
Title: National Criminal Justice
Reference Center (NCJRS)
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Covers drugs and crime, juvenile justice, law enforcement,
victims of crime, corrections, courts, and issues in criminal
justice, from
the U.S. Department of Justice.
Title: National
Transportation Library
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains information and documents on aviation, waterways,
freight, rail, highway, public, pedestrian, and other
modes of transportation.
Title:
Nature
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1997 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Biotechnology
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Cell Biology
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1999 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Genetics
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Immunology
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Medicine
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Neuroscience
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Reviews Cancer
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2001 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Reviews Genetics
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Reviews Immunology
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2001 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title:
Nature Reviews Neuroscience
Via: Nature e-journals
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Nature is the
world's foremost weekly scientific journal.
Title: New Book of
Knowledge
Via: Grolier (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Site consists of three encyclopedias: New Book of
Knowledge Online (for children), Encyclopedia Americana Online
(for in-depth
research) and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia Online (for quick reference)
Title:
OneFile
- InfoTrac
Via: Gale Group (a DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A compilation of all the DISCUS databases brought
together, providing a one-step approach to searching.
Title: Online Literary
Criticism
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains links to over 2500 critical and biographical
websites about authors and their works. May be browsed by
author, title,
nationality and literary period. Created and maintained by the Internet Public
Library.
Title:
Opposing
Viewpoints
Via: Gale Group
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Database that analyzes current issues, from abortion to
United States foreign relations, and beyond, with opposing viewpoints.
Title:
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Via: Oxford University Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides 50,000 signed biographies of men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from
the earlies times to the end of the year 2000.
Title: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Via: Oxford University Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: earliest time - 2000
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Created in association with the British Academy
Title:
Oxford
English Dictionary
Via: Oxford University Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Online version of the OED.
Title:
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Via: Oxford University Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works
published by Oxford University Press in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database. Also contains information
from the Oxford Companions Series and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, providing an additional 140,000 entries,
including 50,000 longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.
Title:
PAIS International Abstracts, with Archive
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1960 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Contains subject coverage of policy approaches in areas and issues of concern to governments,
including economic, political, and social background information and statistics.
The scope is international, with access at global, regional, national, and local levels.
Title:
PapersFirst
Via: OCLC FirstSearch
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1993 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Papers included in every congress, conference, exposition,
workshop, symposium and meeting received at the British Library.
Title:
Physical Education Index
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1970 - present
Full-Text: No
Description:
Abstracts on physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology,
motor learning, recreation,
standardized
fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and
training, and sport sociology/psychology.
Health education and physical
therapy are also covered.
Title:
PILOTS Database
Via: CSA Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1871 - present
Full-Text: No
Description:
Abstracts on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Title: PLoS (Public
Library of Science): Biology
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current research in the field of biology
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A peer-reviewed journal, published monthly and available
free online, featuring research of exceptional significance
and articles of a
groundbreaking nature that have received extensive coverage in the worldwide
news media.
Title: Poet's
Corner
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A free Gale Group Web site containing short biographies of
some noted poets. Includes other information as well,
but be forewarned, the
site is heavily commercial.
Title:
POPline
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Searchable reproductive health database of citations with
abstracts on worldwide literature in the field of population,
family planning,
and related health issues. Offers delivery of full-text articles for a fee.
Title:
Population
and Household Economic Topics
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides information on economic topics affecting
populations and households across the country; from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Title: Population Index
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Annotated bibliography and searchable database of recently
published books, journal articles, working papers, and
other materials on
population topics; from Princeton University.
Title:
Population Reference Bureau
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: 2000 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides instant summaries - in graphics and text - of the
demographic characteristics of the U.S. population.
Developed by the
Population Reference Bureau and demographers at the University of Michigan's
Social Science Data Analysis Network.
Title:
Pre-CINAHL
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: No
Description: A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is
intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles,
and includes a
rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which
are available to researchers only for the
time when these articles are being
assigned additional indexing. This enables users to gain access to article
citations that otherwise
would not be available. Once the bibliographic records
are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed
from
Pre-CINAHL.
Title:
Primary Search
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1989 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines and over 100 student
pamphlets. Also
offers
indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 elementary school
magazines.
Title:
Proceedings
Via: OCLC FirstSearch
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: Citations of every congress, conference, exposition,
workshop, symposium and meeting received at the British Library.
Title: Project MUSE
Via: Johns Hopkins University Press
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1993 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides online access to the full-text of a growing
number of scholarly journals in the arts & humanities and social sciences.
Title:
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Via: UMI: University Microfilms
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1861 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Contains over 2 million entries of doctoral dissertations published from 1980 and masters theses published
from 1988.
More than 600,000 documents available in PDF format for immediate free download.
Title:
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
Via: UMI: University Microfilms
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Full-Text: Yes
Description: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied
health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile
database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities
as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest
Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than
700 titles, with over 580 titles in full-text..
Title:
PsycARTICLES
Via: EBSCO
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1987 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Full-text access to articles, books and book chapters in
applied, behavioral, developmental, educational, and experimental psychology.
Title:
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Offers more than 550 full text publications, including over 500
peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics such as emotional
and
behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes,
anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Can be searched independently,
but also allows users to conveniently link to
full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Title:
PsycInfo
Via: EBSCO
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1887 - present
Full-Text: No
Description: Indexed access to articles, books and book chapters in
applied, behavioral, developmental, educational, and experimental psychology.
Title: PubMed
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: No
Description: A service of the National Library of Medicine, providing
access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the
mid-1960's and
additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing
full-text articles and related resources.
Title:
Readers'
Guide (Current Events) Full-Text
Via: HW Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Provides full-text (from 1994), abstracts (from 1984), and
indexing (from 1982) to journal articles in African Americans,
aging,
astronomy, biography, business, children, computers, consumer education,
current events, education, environment, film, fine arts,
foreign affairs,
health, history, medicine, music, news, politics, religion, science, and more.
Title:
Regional Business News
Via: EBSCOhost (a Collegiate DISCUS database)
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: Current
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all
metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Title:
RhymeZone
Via: Web
Access: No restrictions
Coverage: Varies
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Locates rhymes, synonyms, definitions, quotations in
famous works, and more
Title:
Science Magazine
Via:PASCAL of South Carolina
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1997 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: Full-text access to the journal Science.
Title:
ScienceDirect
Via: Elsevier Science
Access: North/South campuses. Students, faculty and staff with a valid USCB
Library ID card may access from remote locations.
Coverage: 1995 - present
Full-Text: Yes
Description: A database offering comprehensive coverage (over 1.7
million full-text articles and 3 million abstracts and indexed records),
including the fields of biology, biochemistry, chemistry, earth sciences,
environmental sciences, microbiology, physics, and astronomy. Designed for
interdisciplinary research and to serve the needs of the researcher.